Four new Dutch Academy Votes


Every year, the organizers of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invite a number of new members to join the award-giving body. This year the Academy invited a record of 322 new artists and filmmakers to join the organization, among which four fellow Dutch. Cameraman Hoyte van Hoytema (Interstellar, Her), editor Job ter Burg (Borgman, Oorlogswinter), cinematographer and director Leonard Retel Helmrich (Position among the Stars) and costume designer Jany Temime (Gravity, Skyfall) are the chosen ones and will now get to vote for the Oscars.

“Our goal is to recognize filmmaking and talent no matter where you live,” said Boone Isaacs of the Academy in an article of the Hollywood Reporter. “The heart and soul of the motion picture business is here, in Los Angeles, California, which is where we are, but it’s also important for people to understand that we are a global organization,” she added.

Among the new members are Benedict Cumberbatch, Daniel Radcliffe, Emma Stone and musicians like Radiohead-guitarist Jonny Greenwood and Nine Inch Nails frontman Trent Reznor.

Congratulations to our Dutchies!


©2015 Holland Hollywood Connection


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?